European Rail Congress  

Welcome to the newsletter of the European Rail Congress, a two day industry Summit and annual Rail Awards ceremony. Our monthly newsletters will keep you informed with everything you need to know about the Event. They will also include insightful commentary and analysis on topical issues from key players across the European rail market.




Are you proud of your success in providing valuable services, products or strategies for the European railway industry? Do you think others could learn from your success?

Entering our European rail awards is an excellent way of highlighting your best practice to the whole European rail sector.

The deadline for you to submit your entries for our European rail awards is fast approaching! Entering is free and can be done online by 19 April at




Judges of the new European Rail Congress Awards are encouraging operators, suppliers and managers in the European rail sector to submit their entries for the 19 different award categories.

Chair of the Awards judging panel, Brian Simpson MEP, who is also Chair of the European Parliament's Transport Committee, said: "We are looking forward to seeing evidence of excellence and innovation across a wide spectrum of railway professionalism on the European rail network. Winners of these prestigious awards will truly be representing best practice in the European rail sector, especially given it will be the views and opinions of highly regarded peers that determine the award winners."

Other members of the judging panel include EU Transport Commissioner Siim Kallas as well as the following members of the European Parliament's Transport Committee: Dominique Riquet MEP, Said El Khadraoui MEP, Ines Ayala Sender MEP and Debora Serracchiani MEP. READ MORE...


Entrants can make their submissions online to the 19 different award categories.

Deadline for entries:
19 April 2013

Entries are welcome from both EU and non-EU European countries.

Award winners will be announced at the inaugural 2013 Awards ceremony in London on 12 November 2013.




It goes without saying that your entry should clearly tell the judges about the successes you have achieved and you should do so in around 1000 words.

Your success could relate to a new service you have run, a new rail bridge you have built, a new safety strategy you have implemented, a rail station you have transformed, new technologies you have introduced, new partnerships you have entered in to. Our 19 different Awards categories cover the whole spectrum of the railway industry and its wide range of professionalisms.

To make your entry stand out from the crowd, innovative elements of your project should be particularly highlighted. Your project may represent an industry-first or it may include the innovative application of existing products and services.

For the judges having to make the tough decisions on which entries to short-list, their task is made easier if you provide clear and strong evidence of results that have been achieved thanks to the delivery of your project/service/product. These results could, for example, take the form of increased passenger satisfaction levels, improved service reliability, higher carbon savings, increased efficiencies, better safety levels, patronage growth, increased ticket sales etc. The strongest entries will convey the results in a statistical manner.

If the aim of the project was to provide a solution to an existing problem, make sure you describe the previous situation and the subsequent positive changes and results that have occurred since implementation.

Include photographs and diagrams if they help to better illustrate your results/achievements, for example, improvements to rail stations may be conveyed more strongly if photographs underpin the written entry.

Projects entered must have been implemented in the last five years and you may enter the same submission in to more than one Award category.

Good luck!


Details of the 2013 two-day Rail Summit

You are receiving this email because you previously subscribed via the European Rail Congress
website or via our group communications. If you do not wish to receive further emails from European
Rail Congress, please click here to unsubscribe.

European Rail Congress Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter IRJ UITP Rail Professional KPMG Polis High Speed Bombardier Network Rail Thales European Commission European Parliament EPF ERFA EURAILmag European Railway Agency