European Rail Congress  

Welcome to the newsletter of the European Rail Congress, an industry Summit and annual Rail Awards ceremony. Our monthly newsletters will keep you informed with everything you need to know about the Event. They will also include insightful commentary and analysis on topical issues from key players across the European rail market.



The 2nd Annual European Rail Congress will be held in London on 11 November 2014. Entries for the annual Rail Awards are being accepted online up until 30 April 2014.

The feedback from our inaugural event has been overwhelming with many requests from European countries to host the 2014 event. Discussions will take place in 2014 with a view to taking it into mainland Europe in 2015.
Judging Panel
Our new look judging panel will be chaired by Brian Simpson MEP and includes Matthias Ruete, Director General, European Commission - DG Move; Monika Heiming, Executive Director, European Rail Infrastructure Managers (EIM); François Coart, President, European Rail Freight Association (ERFA); Marcel Verslype, Executive Director, European Railway Agency (ERA); Alain Flausch, Secretary General, UITP; and Willy Smeulders, Board Member, European Passenger Federation (EPF).

Over 300 of you entered the first ever Awards of the European Rail Congress from 23 countries right across Europe. 10 different countries were represented amongst the winners at last month's awards ceremony. We look forward to even more of you entering and participating in 2014.

The 2014 awards are now open for entries. The awards entry deadline is Wednesday 30 April 2014, entries can be made online at Our Judges will then decide on the winners of each of the 18 award categories. These will be announced at the European Rail Congress Awards Dinner on 11 November in London. The finalists will be announced in June.

We all know that rail has the capability to play a key role in any sustainable transport system by offering efficient, safe transport with low environmental impact, and these strengths need to be articulated in the political decision-making process as well as promoted in society. Through further raising the profile of examples of best practice across Europe, the European Rail Congress Awards aims to help influence the wider perception of rail.

Entrants can make their submissions online to the 18 different award categories.

Deadline for entries:
30 April 2014

Entries are welcome from both EU and non-EU European countries.

Award winners will be announced at the 2nd annual Awards ceremony in London on 11 November 2014.

You are receiving this email because you previously subscribed via the European Rail Congress
website or via our group communications. If you do not wish to receive further emails from European
Rail Congress, please click here to unsubscribe.

European Rail Congress Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter IRJ UITP Rail Professional KPMG Polis European Commission European Parliament EPF ERFA European Railway Agency EIM